Australian Urban Design Awards
The nation's premier award for excellence  and innovation in urban design



The Australian Urban Design Awards were created by Prime Minister Paul Keating's Urban Design Taskforce in 1996. The program was established to recognise contemporary Australian urban design projects of the highest quality and to encourage cities, towns and communities across the country to strive for best practice in all projects. Over the past twenty years, the program has communicated the critical role of good urban design in the shaping of the nation and the collaborative relationships that underpin the successful development of the built environment.

The Australian Urban Design Awards are convened by the Planning Institute of Australia with the support of eight peak organisations servicing the sector. Awards patrons are Malcolm Turnbull MP, Prime Minister of Australia and Lucy Turnbull AO, Chief Commissioner of the Greater Sydney Commission. The Awards are delivered by Architecture Media, a cross-platform publishing and events company focused on the built environment.

The intent and scope of the Australian Urban Design Awards is wide-ranging and attracts entries for initiatives, built projects and publications that will make a significant difference to the places, spaces, buildings and infrastructure of our cities and towns.

View Prime Minister's message of support
View 2016 Australian Urban Design Awards winners
View 2015 Australian Urban Design Awards winners


  • Delivered outcome - large scale
  • Delivered outcome - small scale
  • Policies, programs and concepts - large scale
  • Policies, programs and concepts - small scale

2017 Awards Presentation

Wednesday 25 October
Queensland Terrace,
State Library of Queensland

6.00 pm Welcome drinks
6.30 pm Keynote address: Network Systems, delivered by Heinrich Wolff, Wolff Architects, South Africa
7.15 pm Presentation of the 2017 Australian Urban Design Awards
7.30 pm Celebratory drinks and canapes
8.30 pm Event concludes

2017 Awards Timeline

29 May Entries open
28 July Entries close
25 August Shortlist published
25 October Awards presentation in Brisbane

2017 Jury

Representing the Planning Institute of Australia: William Chandler, Director, Chandler Consulting Services
Representing the Australian Institute of Architects: Jon Clements, Director, Jackson Clements Burrows Architects
Representing the Australian Institute of Landscape Architects: Malcolm Snow, Chief Executive, National Capital Authority
Representing the Government Architects Network Australia: Jill Garner, Victorian Government Architect
Representing the Australian Sustainable Built Environment Council: Neil Savery, General Manager, Australian Building Codes Board
Representing Consult Australia: Cindy Varnier, Infrastructure Sustainability Consultant, GHD
Representing Engineers Australia: Tim Hunt, Melbourne Lighting Leader, Arup
Representing the Green Building Council of Australia: Davina Knox, Senior Sustainability Consultant, WSP